The Atlantic Seaboard Wine Association (ASWA) is one of the oldest wine organizations located on the East Coast. Established in 1973 as the Vinifera Wine Growers Association (VWGA), it was an early supporter of planting world-class Vinifera wine grapes, the production of quality commercial wines, and the building of a wine industry along the Eastern seaboard.
We are an organization dedicated to the promotion of East Coast wines, wineries and winemakers.

Wine Grape Productivity Tray:

Productivity Tray Information


In 1984, the Wine Grape Productivity Tray was acquired from Sheffield Company. The tray, which measures 30 inches in length by 19-1/2 inches in width, is silver-plated and produced in the design of a classic champagne serving tray with a full border of bas-relief grape and vine patterns. The logo of the Vinifera Wine Growers Association, precursor to the Atlantic Seaboard Wine Association, now incorporated into the ASWA’s logo, is engraved in the center of the tray.

Since 1984, the tray has been presented to an individual or organization that has made major contributions to the sustainable growth and economic viability of the American wine industry, including professional consulting, innovation, technical research and knowledge, as well as leadership and active support.

The tray has traveled and has been displayed across the United States, from Virginia to North Carolina and Alabama, up to Maryland, Pennsylvania and New York, and round-tripping to California.

Each of the now 30 distinguished recipients have had their individual or organizational name hand-engraved on the back of the tray.

Productivity Tray Winners

Making the presentation to Curtis Coleburn, Chief Operating Officer of the Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Board (center), were TTB Administrator John Manfreda (left), the 2012 recipient of the Wine Grape Productivity Tray, and President of the Atlantic Seaboard Wine Association, Mr. Carl Brandhorst (right) , with ASWA President Emeritus, Gordon Murchie (far left) reading the citation.
A member of the Virginia ABC since 1994, Curtis Coleburn was appointed the Chief Operating Officer of the ABC in 1999. With membership in the Virginia Bar Association, Coleburn came to the ABC with a distinguished background in various positions in the state’s law enforcement and related legal services. He is responsible for the day-to-day operations of the Virginia ABC.
With a professional and personal interest, Coleburn has participated in activities that support the Virginia Foundation for Healthy Youth and the state’s Substance Abuse Services Council. For the Virginia wine industry, Coleburn has provided a cooperative and positive communications link between the ABC and the wine industry, offering valuable advice and counsel.
To better understand the relationship between the ABC as the state’s regulatory and compliance element and the wine industry, one of the ABC’s clients, Coleburn has participated in many state and federal wine related meetings with members of Virginia and other state’s wine industry personnel. Coleburn has become a qualified wine judge, and has participated in the Atlantic Seaboard Wine Competition for the past seven years. He believes that good administrators need to know and understand their clients, which they are officially responsible to serve.


  • 2013        Curtis Coleburn Chief Operating Officer, Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Board
  • 2012        John Manfreda, Administrator, Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau (TTB)
  • 2011        Thomas J. Payette, Winemaking Consultant, Virginia
  • 2010        David McIntyre, The Washington Post Wine Columnist
  • 2009        Lucie T. Morton, Viticulturist, Broad Run, Virginia
  • 2008        Kevin Atticks, Executive Director, Maryland Wineries Association
  • 2007        Regency at Dominion Valley Country Club, Heritage Hunt & Stonewall Golf and Country Clubs for support of the Atlantic Seaboard Competitions
  • 2006        R. Fletcher Good, IV, North Carolina, for his support in the development of the Yadkin Valley viticulture region
  • 2005        Virginia Foundation for Agriculture in the Classroom
  • 2004        Center for Wine & Cardiovascular Health, University Alabama, Represented by Dr. Francois M. Booyse, Director
  • 2003        Lansdowne Resort, Leesburg, Virginia, Mary Watson-Delauder, Resort Sommelier
  • 2002        New York State Agricultural Experiment Station at Geneva, New York, Timothy Martinson, Representative
  • 2001        Douglas P. Moorhead, Presque Isle Wine Cellars, Pennsylvania
  • 2000        Dr. G. Hamilton Mowbray, Viticulturist, Enologist, Wine Educator, Maryland
  • 1999        Alan LeBlanc-Kinne, Winery Consulting Services, Inc., Virginia
  • 1998        Dr. Tony K. Wolf, VPI, Virginia
  • 1997        Wine East Magazine, Lancaster, Pennsylvania
  • 1996        Jacques A. Recht, Enologist & Virginia Wine Industry Pioneer
  • 1995        Frederick T. Dykes, Commissioner, Virginia ABC Board
  • 1994        Women for WineSense, California
  • 1993        Dr. Bruce Zoecklein, VPI, Virginia
  • 1992        Willard Scott, WMAL
  • 1991        Senator John W. Warner, Middleburg, Virginia
  • 1990        Annette Ringwood, Richmond, Virginia
  • 1989        Peter Hatch, Monticello, Virginia
  • 1988        The Williamsburg Winery, Williamsburg, Virginia
  • 1987        Hubert L. Tucker, Waterford, Virginia
  • 1986        Dr. Jacques A. Recht, Oak Grove, Virginia
  • 1985        Francis Sargent, Edinburg, Virginia
  • 1984        Joachim O. Hollerith, Madison, Virginia

In Memoriam

Founding Member Juanita Swedenburg

Founding Member Juanita Swedenburg

Contributions in memoriam accepted:

Learn More...


Atlantic Seaboard Wine Association

Atlantic Seaboard Wine Association

P.O. Box 11332
Burke, VA 22009

Phone: 703-323-6873
Email: info@aswawines.org


Formerly Known As:

Vinifera Wine Growers Association

Maintained by:
Moe Technologies, Inc.

© Copyright 2016 • All rights reserved
Contact: webmaster@aswawines.org