Wine Grape Productivity Tray

Productivity Tray Information


2017 Winner

The 2017 Productivity Tray recipient is Thomas Cosentino, Executive Director of the Garden State Wine Growers Association (GSWGA), the statewide advocacy and promotional channel of the New Jersey wine industry.  In that capacity, he oversees the day-to-day administrative and marketing functions of the organization and is the state’s liaison with New Jersey state government, including the Department of Agriculture, Tourism and Alcohol Beverage Control Commission.   Among other initiatives, he helped to develop the grassroots campaign UncorkNJ, which led to the passing of the direct shipping bill in 2012 allowing in-state wineries to ship wine directly to consumers and for out-of-state wineries to do so as well.  He has worked extensively with the business community involved with New Jersey’s wine industry and created a branding campaign to build awareness of New Jersey wines.  This included television commercials, billboards, a radio show and online content, including the “At the Vineyard” TV show. 

2016 Winner

The 2016 Productivity Tray recipient was Jim Law, owner and winemaker of Linden Vineyards. He is recognized internationally, nationally, and locally for his ongoing contributions to the crafting of excellent wines on the East Coast. He was an early pioneer in bringing top quality vinifera wine to Virginia, beginning in the early 1980’s. Jim has mentored and even employed a large number of people who have gone on to become winery owners, viticulturalists, and winemakers at many of Virginia’s leading wineries. He and his crew at Linden are constantly experimenting with viticultural and winemaking techniques to bring out the best from the terroir at their vineyard site.

In 1984, the Wine Grape Productivity Tray was acquired from Sheffield Company. The tray, which measures 30 inches in length by 19-1/2 inches in width, is silver-plated and produced in the design of a classic champagne serving tray with a full border of bas-relief grape and vine patterns. The logo of the Vinifera Wine Growers Association, precursor to the Atlantic Seaboard Wine Association, now incorporated into the ASWA’s logo, is engraved in the center of the tray.

Since 1984, the tray has been presented to an individual or organization that has made major contributions to the sustainable growth and economic viability of the American wine industry, including professional consulting, innovation, technical research and knowledge, as well as leadership and active support.

The tray has traveled and has been displayed across the United States, from Virginia to North Carolina and Alabama, up to Maryland, Pennsylvania and New York, and round-tripping to California.

Each of the now 30 distinguished recipients have had their individual or organizational name hand-engraved on the back of the tray.

Productivity Tray Winners


2017Thomas Costentino, Executive Director of the Garden State Winegrowers Association
2016Jim Law, Winemaker - Linden Vineyards
2015North Carolina Wine Growers Association
2013Curtis Coleburn Chief Operating Officer, Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Board
2012John Manfreda, Administrator, Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau (TTB)
2011Thomas J. Payette, Winemaking Consultant, Virginia
2010David McIntyre, The Washington Post Wine Columnist
2009Lucie T. Morton, Viticulturist, Broad Run, Virginia
2008Kevin Atticks, Executive Director, Maryland Wineries Association
2007Regency at Dominion Valley Country Club, Heritage Hunt & Stonewall Golf and Country Clubs for support of the Atlantic Seaboard Competitions
2006R. Fletcher Good, IV, North Carolina, for his support in the development of the Yadkin Valley viticulture region
2005Virginia Foundation for Agriculture in the Classroom
2004Center for Wine & Cardiovascular Health, University Alabama, Represented by Dr. Francois M. Booyse, Director
2003Lansdowne Resort, Leesburg, Virginia, Mary Watson-Delauder, Resort Sommelier
2002New York State Agricultural Experiment Station at Geneva, New York, Timothy Martinson, Representative
2001Douglas P. Moorhead, Presque Isle Wine Cellars, Pennsylvania
2000Dr. G. Hamilton Mowbray, Viticulturist, Enologist, Wine Educator, Maryland
1999Alan LeBlanc-Kinne, Winery Consulting Services, Inc., Virginia
1998Dr. Tony K. Wolf, VPI, Virginia
1997Wine East Magazine, Lancaster, Pennsylvania
1996Jacques A. Recht, Enologist & Virginia Wine Industry Pioneer
1995Frederick T. Dykes, Commissioner, Virginia ABC Board
1994Women for WineSense, California
1993 Dr. Bruce Zoecklein, VPI, Virginia
1992Willard Scott, WMAL
1991Senator John W. Warner, Middleburg, Virginia
1990Annette Ringwood, Richmond, Virginia
1989Peter Hatch, Monticello, Virginia
1988The Williamsburg Winery, Williamsburg, Virginia
1987Hubert L. Tucker, Waterford, Virginia
1986Dr. Jacques A. Recht, Oak Grove, Virginia
1985Francis Sargent, Edinburg, Virginia
1984Joachim O. Hollerith, Madison, Virginia